Travel Tuesday: Spirit of Detroit gold charm

"The Spirit of Detroit is a city monument with a large bronze statue created by Marshall Fredericks and located at the Coleman A. Young Municipal Center on Woodward Avenue in Detroit, Michigan, USA."
Fantastic visit of downtown Detroit, Michigan

Planning a trip to a new place for me involves 3 things:

1) How will I get there?
2) Will I be able to purchase a gold charm for my bracelet of the city, state or country I am visiting?
3) What are the top things I must do while I’m there?

When  I first wrote this short list, I wrote it in a more sensible way but it wouldn’t have been true, for me, so yes #2 comes before touring. Once I’ve booked a trip, my next step is googling and calling jewelry shops in the area, to be sure they actually have the gold charms in the store. I do not want to order them online. Where is the sporting fun in that? 🙂

I was totally and pleasantly blown away during my first two hours of visiting downtown Detroit! The Riverfront was amazingly scenic, the restaurants were plentiful and there were statues everywhere. In fact, by the time my friends showed me The Spirit of Detroit statue, I almost passed up the opportunity to snap a quick shot. Luckily, I took two quick ones and kept it moving. Did I mention it was a surprisingly hot and sunny Saturday June morning and I had traveled 17 hours from Boston, MA to Detroit by Amtrak? Yes indeed.

We celebrated Father’s Day with a delicious BBQ feast in their gorgeous tree lined suburban backyard home while planning out our next few days that included finding a jeweler who had charms in stock. Surprisingly, I could not find one online store located in the downtown Detroit area that had gold charms.

Gold charm mission excitedly accomplished right in their neighborhood. I called ahead my first day in town and the salesman was nice enough to text me a photo of the charm which turned out to represent “The Spirit of Detroit”. I’m glad I listened to my intuition as I know have a photo of the statue and it’s sister charm.

Happy conclusion to a whirlwind six day visit.

 

Leave a Reply

