Travel Tuesday – Walking through Jardines del Buen Retiro in Madrid, Spain

Jardins del Buen Retiro

Planning and traveling with painful surgical after effects hasn’t totally discouraged me but has made me even more appreciative of my experiences which are now only once a year versus several times a year.  My favorite travel company posted a fabulously priced vacation package last November to Madrid, Spain. I booked it for  August so that my son could celebrate his 22nd birthday on August 22nd in Spain.

Due to a medical issue, on day three, I was stuck in my hotel room until 3pm which was fine for my son who was a bit jet lagged and napped until I could manage to leave.

We chose to visit the enormous public park located in Madrid. It was well worth the visit and was only a 10 minute walk from our hotel on Calle de Atocha. Thankfully, there are plenty of benches throughout the park, most of them under tall, shady trees for those folks  like me who have to take period rest breaks.

Tip:  The photo collage was designed to show the paths are mainly made of powdery white sand.  Please be sure to wear comfortable, easy to clean, sand friendly shoes.             You can thank me later. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Travel Tuesday – Walking through Jardines del Buen Retiro in Madrid, Spain

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.